1894 - Eureka Gold Mining Company: A. McQuarrie, underground manager; eighteen men employed. A blacksmith shop and engine house was constructed, and shafts were pumped out to enlarge them.
1895 - Barrasois: M. McGrath, manager; sixteen men employed, working on two leads.
By March of 1862, sixty-nine applications for leases had been received. During March and April of that same year, two hundred and twenty-three more were processed. Many of these leases were taken on speculation and so never amounted to much, while some were worked for a month or two and then abandoned. Other leads backed by both capital and manpower did extremely well, and consequently many fortunes were made. Some of the lead names were The Hewitt, The Cumminger, The Hayden, The Aikins, The McKay, and The Blue Lead.
1894 - Canada Gold Mining Company: John McQuarrie, manager; fourteen men employed.
1895 - New Glasgow Gold Mining Company: J. A. Fraser, manger; thirty men employed. Stellarton Gold Mining Company, and Springfield: twenty men employed.
The Mulgrave lead at Isaac’s Harbour was the most prosperous. The Galligher, Victoria, North Star, Antigonish, Burke, and Fraserwere some of the other leads.
By World War II, almost 40% of gold production in Nova Scotia was situated in Guysborough County, and the population grew considerably as a result. Gold exploration continues in the region today, with various mining companies currently analyzing the development potential of numerous areas.