Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Copied Nov 3, 2001 from: Guysborough Sketches and Other Essays
By A. C. Jost (1950)
Page 216
GOLD MINING IN GUYS. COUNTY - WINE HARBOUR

Gold having first been found here near the Barachois in 1860, it was not long before a number of leads were discovered. In 1862 seven were being worked, the Smith, the Middle lead, the Major Norton, the Barachois, the Halliday, the Wiscasset and the Gillespie. The Smith lead produced for a time 6 oz. of gold to the ton of ore crushed. On one occasion, from the Hattie lead, 5 tons of quartz gave 135 oz. of gold. Itís average production over a period of some months was 3 oz. of gold per ton of ore, the Middle lead with 2 and a half oz. coming a close second. In 1863 the district produced more gold than any other in the province and it continued to pay richly for several years. Its banner year for that period was 1864, when over 4,000 oz. of gold were raised.

The names of some of the earlier companies are the Eldorado, the Orient, the Provincial, the Caledonia and the Glenelg. A few years later the Eureka, the Napier, the Globe, the Phoenix, the Gladstone, the New Eldorado, the Wine Harbour Goldmining Co., the Guysborough Gold Mining Co., the Plough Lead Gold Mining Co., and the Wine Harbour Co. were active.

After 1864 the production of the field declined until in 1880 only 61 oz. were obtained. The Plough Lead Mining Co. was largely responsible for the rehabilitation of the field, but production never again greatly exceeded 2000 ounces a year. In recent years the returns have been negligible, though during its productive period it contributed 42,727 oz. to the provincial total.

RETURN TO PATTI'S GOLD IN WINE HARBOUR PAGE RETURN TO PATTI'S WINE HARBOUR PAGE