Make your own free website on Tripod.com


Copied Nov 3, 2001 from: Pre-1900 Heritage Houses - Wine Harbour
(Sherbrooke Branch Eastern Counties Regional Library – OFY 1975)


>ST. PATRICK’S MISSION CHURCH

This church is located off the main road joining Wine Harbour with Sonora. It is considerably isolated today, invisible from the road, settled on a slope surrounded by trees. It was built in approximately 1857 by the Catholic members of the community of Wine Harbour. The original Catholic church stood on the same site. It had been used as a school for the area at one time. The initial church was destroyed in a hurricane and at that time, the present church was constructed. The community built it, each citizen contributing what he or she was able to. Turns were taken during the actual building, others would carry out the hewning of the timbers and still others would lend their oxen to transport the lumber.

The church was considered a branch of the St. Patrick’s church in Lochaber, thus its name became St. Patrick’s Mission Church. The priest traveled from Lochaber to deliver mass in Wine Harbour. Priests included Father Fraser, Father Tompkins, Father Doyle, Father MacIsaac, Father Patten, Father Bryden, Father Maclaughlin, Father Lynch and Father Smith. The proceeding are believed to be in order of service.

The building itself measures approximately forty-five feet in length and twenty-six feet in width. The main façade contains wooden shingles on its exterior. Clapboards can be found on other facades. Asphalt shingles are now on the roof, replacing the original hand shaven wooden shingles. A single stack chimney is located in the rear of the building. The single steeple is located in the center, it is inset. The eaves are cornic boxed, plain, with a plain frieze. Trim raking type is cornice boxed, plain with a return.The windows have a simple flat structural opening shape and entablatures as surround heads. Surround sides are of plain trim. Surround sills are lugsills. All windows are two sash and double hung with four panel per sash. The main door is located in the center of the gable façade. It also has a flat opening shape and an entablature as a surround head. Plain trim composes its surround sides. Architrave type is plain with an embrasure. A transom panel is located at the top of this door, its type is unknown due to a wooden covering. The door itself cannot be seen for the same reason. A one story closed porch is constructed onto the rear of the building.

This church, once thriving with activity, has been vacant for over twenty years*. Its members now travel to Sherbrooke. It stands nobly in its solitude.
* In 1980, the church was torn down.

_____________________________________________________________


RETURN TO PATTI'S WINE HARBOUR CEMETERIES PAGE RETURN TO PATTI'S WINE HARBOUR PAGE RETURN TO PATTI'S HOMEPAGE